webinar register page

Siding Spring Observatory - Science in the Pub

Oct 1, 2021 06:30 PM in Canberra, Melbourne, Sydney

* Required information


Prof Anna Moore
Professor Anna Moore is at the forefront of the expansion of Australia’s space industry. She is director of The Australian National University (ANU) Institute for Space (InSpace). Professor Moore was instrumental in the formation of the Australian Space Agency, as part of the Australian Government’s expert reference group. She is a distinguished researcher, a world-leading expert in astronomical instrumentation and a global leader in the emerging field of transient infrared astronomy. Her expertise is critical to the space industry in Australia, NASA, the Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research, and many other global space industry partners. Anna is an inspirational role model to many women and is ensuring women thrive in the traditionally male-dominated STEM workforce. While 16 per cent of Australia’s STEM-qualified workforce are women, the InSpace team is more than 50 per cent female.
Prof Lisa Kewley
Lisa Jennifer Kewley is a Professor and Australian Research Council Laureate Fellow at the Australian National University. Kewley obtained her PhD in 2002 from the Australian National University on the connection between star-formation and supermassive black holes in galaxies. She was a Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics Fellow and a NASA Hubble Fellow. Her awards include the 2006 American Astronomical Society Annie Jump Cannon Award, the 2008 American Astronomical Society Newton Lacy Pierce Prize, and the 2020 US National Academy of Science James Craig Watson Medal. In 2014, Kewley was elected Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science “for her fundamental advances in understanding of the history of the universe, particularly star and galaxy formation”, and in 2015, Kewley was awarded an ARC Laureate Fellowship, Australia’s top fellowship to support excellence in research. Kewley is currently implementing her scientific vision through her Australian Research Council Centre o
Karlie Noon
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples are the oldest scientists, technologists, engineers, and mathematicians in human history, yet are rarely acknowledged for their achievements or discoveries. Gamilaroi woman Karlie Noon is passionate about amplifying the astronomical accomplishments of Australia's First Nations peoples. For almost a decade, Karlie has been dedicated to making science accessible to people all across Australia. Karlie was the first female, Indigenous Australian to graduate with combined degrees in mathematics and science after graduating in 2016 from the University of Newcastle. She has since completed a Masters of Astronomy and Astrophysics Advanced degree from the Australian National University in 2019, in which she received a high distinction for her research into the Milky Way galaxy. Karlie has been involved in a variety of national and local activities including television appearances such as ABC’s The Drum and BBC’s Stargazing Live program.
Prof Fred Watson
Fred Watson has been Astronomer-in-Charge of the Australian Astronomical Observatory since 1995, but is best known for his radio and TV broadcasts, books, and other outreach programmes - including science tourism. Fred is a musician, too, with both a science-themed CD and an award-winning symphony libretto to his name. Fred was made a Member of the Order of Australia in 2010. He has an asteroid named after him (5691 Fredwatson), but says that if it hits the Earth, it won't be his fault.